John Steenhuisen voted DA new leader


1 November 2020

Staff Reporter/PretoriaLIVE

In a race for DA leadership, John Steenhuisen was elected for the top position with 80% of the voters.

“Voting for Leadership Candidates took place using the online OpaVote platform and this system worked well. The election results were compliant with all DA election requirements and rules. They were signed off by us, as presiding officers, as well as the candidates’ party agents and also a professional audit firm who acted as independent external auditors and who oversaw the voting process,” said the DA.

The DA has described the Congress as not only the largest, but also the most accessible and participatory Congress in the history of the DA.

“We thank all delegates for their participation, their compliance with the rules of our internal democracy, which remains healthy, strong and vibrant.”

The DA structures will stand as follows;
Federal Chairperson, Dr. Ivan Meyer, was elected uncontested.

Deputy Federal Chairpersons are Refiloe Nt’Sekhe, Anton Bredell and Jacques Smalle respectively.

Chairperson of the Federal Council was won by Helen Zille, with 69% of votes cast.

The Deputy Chairpersons of the Federal Council went to James Masango and Thomas Walters, who were elected uncontested.

Dr Dion George was elected uncontested as Chairperson of Federal Finance.


Comments are closed.